Create a user and assign a desktop

The self-service portal MyGDaaS always starts with a quick overview on all your resources. From there you are able to navigate to Users to quickly add a new user.

Before following these steps, we recommend to read the how-to on Deploying a Desktop Blueprint, as you’ll need deployed capacity for step 2 in this how-to.

Dashboard
Dashboard

Step 1: Create a user

Click on the yellow + sign in the top right corner to create a new user.
To create a user, you only need a name and an email address. Optionally, you can assign the user to specific projects and roles.

New User
New User

If you already have a user, you can just click on the user account via the Users button (for team and enterprise customers). If you’re a single user, you can access your user account via Projects -> Default.

Step 2: Enable the new user

Enable the newly created user by clicking on the corresponding button on the user view.
To navigate to this view, click on “Users” in the left navigating pane and select the particular user.

Step 3: Enable the workstation

Depending on the users’ needs, you can choose to enable different types of desktops. Because it can be interesting to have multiple desktops available at the same time. They can be purchased on both an hourly and monthly model. In this way, you can choose the desired performance profile depending on the current needs, while keeping the cost as low as possible.

Enable desktop
Enable desktop

Step 4: Launch the workstation

Now, your user has the selected desktops, it’s time to logon and start working. Both desktops are available to the user. He or she can control basic tasks like start, stop and reboot the machine. You can easily find out what’s the state of your desktops just by looking at the color of the icon.

Launch your desktop
Launch your desktop

Step 5: Let’s start working

By clicking on the workstation icon, the cloud workstation will instantly launch on your local device.

MyGDaaS Desktop
MyGDaaS Desktop

You can launch the workstation with either a web browser or in the industry standard citrix receiver application. The latter one gives you nice benefits like connecting with local devices (storage, usb, …) but also the ability to use up to 4 screens with a maximum of 4K resolution.

It’s as easy as that! You just enabled yourself or one of your colleagues to work on a powerful cloud workstation in less than 3 minutes. Happy working!

Please note that, when you un-assign a workstation, that workstation is destroyed. You’ll get notified via a pop-up when trying to disable a workstation or un-assign a workstation to a certain user.

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles